BACL Constitution



(As Revised 17 December 1998)


I. Name

The name of the Committee shall be the United Kingdom National Committee of Comparative Law.


II. Objects

The object of the Committee is to advance education by promoting and encouraging the study of Comparative Law and in furtherance of that object:


(a) To co-operate with the International Association of Legal Science established under the sponsorship of UNESCO and its executive committee, the International Committee of Comparative Law, and other bodies, both national and international;


(b) To co-ordinate the activities in the United Kingdom of all those interested in the comparative study of law;


(c) To maintain contact with studies and activities carried on in other countries;


(d) To establish libraries, journals and scholarships.


III. Membership

Membership of the National Committee shall be open to the following



i) Law Schools which provide for the teaching of Comparative law;


(ii) Institutions and Organisations which are concerned with the promotion of the comparative study of law.


IV. Associate Membership

Associate Membership of the National Committee shall be open to any individual who is (a) resident in the United Kingdom, or (b) a member of any of the Law Schools, Institutions and Organisations comprised under Article III above.

Associate Members shall pay an annual subscription of such amount as the Council may from time to time determine.



V. Organisation

The business of the Committee shall be conducted by:

(a) a Council

(b) a Chairman

(c) a Secretary General

a. a Treasurer

b. a Meetings Secretary

c. a SPTL Liaison Officer


VI. The Council

The Council shall consist of one person nominated from time to time by each of the constituencies mentioned in Article III above; together with not more than four persons co-opted for such period as the Council may determine and past Chairmen.


The Council shall meet normally once a year. Special meetings may be convened at the discretion of the Chairman.


Subject to the limitation in Article XI below, all decisions of the Council

shall be taken by a simply majority of the members present and voting, and each member shall have one vote. The Chairman shall have a casting vote. One half of the membership of the Council shall constitute a quorum.


The Chairman is authorised, at his discretion, to consult individually the

members of the Council, and to act in accordance with the majority of the

replies received.


VII. The Chairman

The Chairman of the National Committee shall be elected by the Council from among its members, and shall preside at all meetings of the Council. He shall hold office for three years, and shall be eligible for re-election.


VIII. The Secretary and the Treasurer

The Secretary or Secretaries and the Treasurer shall be appointed by the

Council, and need not be members of the Council.


The Secretary or Secretaries, with the assistance of the Treasurer on matters of finance, shall be in charge of the administrative affairs of the National Committee.


The Secretary of Secretaries and the Treasurer shall receive instructions from the Council through the Chairman, and will be responsible to the Council.

Cheques drawn upon any account of the Committee shall be signed by any TWO of the following officers: Chairman, Secretary or Secretaries, and Treasurer.


IX. Headquarters

The Headquarters of the National Committee shall be determined by the Council.


X. Minutes

Minutes shall be kept of all meetings of the Council. Any member or associate member shall be entitled to inspect the minutes at any reasonable time on giving notice to the Secretary.


XI. Amendment

The Constitution of the Committee may be amended by a two-thirds majority of the members of the Council present and voting, or by a simply majority of the whole Council. No amendment shall vary the primary object of the Committee as set out in the first sentence of Article II.


XII. Interpretation

All questions relating to the interpretation of the Constitution shall be

determined by the Council by a simple majority of the members present and voting.


XIII. Entry into Force

The Committee was established and a Constitution adopted by resolution of a meeting of representatives of institutions, societies and law schools, held on 29th November 1950 at the Ministry of Education, 11 Bryanston Square, W.1. This amended Constitution was approved by the Council at a meeting held on 17th December 1998 at the British Institute of International and Comparative Law and took effect from this date.


XIV. Dissolution

In the event of dissolution any assets then owned by the Committee shall be applied exclusively for charitable purposes.